Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to Main Content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. Ireland, Republic of
  3. Dublin
  4. Dublin 14
  5. Churchtown
Elephant & Castle - Churchtown, Dublin, Co. Dublin

Elephant & Castle - Churchtown

3.9
3.9
905 Reviews
€30 and under
American
Our restaurant is a bright and airy, designed dining space lying at the very heart of Churchtown. It is a local gathering place for family and friends, neighbours and colleagues. The menu will feature the same great dishes that make Elephant & Castle a firm favourite. From the fluffy omelettes, caesar salads and juicy burgers, and, of course, those crispy, spicy wings. We’re focusing on friendly, laid-back service; tasty as ever food and a relaxed atmosphere - everything Elephant & Castle lovers have come to expect from a visit to our place.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 53 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Other options

  • Order online
  • Logo image for Deliveroo
  • Logo image for Just Eat

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Cuisines

    American, Contemporary European, Mexican

  • Hours of operation

    Mon–Thu 12:00 pm–9:30 pm Fri 12:00 pm–10:30 pm Sat 10:00 am–10:30 pm Sun 10:00 am–9:30 pm

  • Phone number

    (01) 683 3790

  • Payment options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress code

    Casual Dress

  • Neighborhood

    Churchtown

  • Parking details

    Street Parking

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Vegan, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Popular dishes

What 905 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

3.9
3.9 based on recent ratings
  • 3.9Food
  • 3.8Service
  • 4Ambience
  • 3.8Value

NoiseModerate

Sort by

Filters

  1. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall1food3service1ambience3
    3 of our 6 dishes were forgotten and order not put through.
  2. FJ

    FiJiRyan

    Dublin

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Menu selection is comprehensive. Excellent food and service. Pleasant ambience.

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded 2 days agoHello FiJiRyan, Very thanks for your 5* review. We are really glad to see you had a great visit and we hope to have you dine in with us again real soon. Best regards, E&C Team

  3. JS

    JSin

    Dublin

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Food was great, service was excellent, cannot fault our visit in any way.

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded 4 days agoHello JSin. Thanks for your 4* review. We are really glad to see you had a good visit with us and we are looking forward to see you dining in with us real soon. Best regards E&C Team

  4. P

    Phil

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall4food4service4ambience5
    As always gr8 choice. Excellent service. Gr8 food. Kids happy!

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded 4 days agoHello Phil. Thanks for your 4* review. We are really glad to see you had a good visit with us and we are looking forward to see you dining in with us real soon. Best regards E&C Team

  5. O

    Olly

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 24, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Loved Sam, the live music, fabulous voice and range of songs!
  6. GM

    GwenM

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on September 23, 2022

    overall4food4service5ambience4
    Steak very expensive for what we got- Desserts were delicious

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded 7 days agoHello GwenM, Thanks for your 4* review. We are really glad to see you had a good visit with us and we are looking forward to see you dining in with us real soon. We hope to hit the 5* next time. Best regards E&C Team

  7. T

    Tony

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 16, 2022

    overall4food5service5ambience3
    Music is awful, need to revisit your playlist but luckily we go for the food and wonderful service that we always get from Veronica. She is excellent and always looks after us with superb attention to detail. Hard to get good staff and even harder to get exceptional staff like Veronica. Thank you for always taking such good care.

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on September 18, 2022Hello Tony. Thank you so much for the great review. We appreciate it and hope you will be back dining with us again real soon. Kind Regards, The E&C Team.

  8. R

    Robocop

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 11, 2022

    overall4food4service5ambience5
    Nice place comfortable arrangement food good service good
  9. AM

    AliciaM

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 10, 2022

    overall2food2service2ambience3
    Understaffed and food was only ok. Service was awful, lots of things asked for weren’t brought or had to be reminded . Not usual standard and def not worth the money
  10. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on September 4, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Food was great as always, I would highly recommend the wings omg, the best so far. The host was fab I think his name is Pablo, well done!

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on September 5, 2022Hello, Very thanks for your 5* Review We are really glad to see you had a great visit and we hope to have you dine in with us again real soon. Best regards E&C Team

  11. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 4, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Food and drinks were great as always. Super attentive staff and pleasant atmosphere.
  12. T

    Tracey

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on September 4, 2022

    overall3food4service2ambience4
    Love this restaurant. Good addition to local area with good food & drink if a little pricey for the offering. Very pleasant staff but very slow/non reactive. Shown to seat with menu only - no iced water. Not asked whether I would like to order straight away or order a drink while looking at menu. Waited almost 15 minutes for anyone to notice & come take order or even get a glass of water! Not that busy plenty of staff.... however I will stress food is tasty & staff are very polite & friendly. I will be back & would recommend.

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on September 5, 2022Hello Tracey, Very thanks for your feedback. We are really sorry to see you didn't have your visit as you expected, we always strive to give the best service and food for our customers and we hope to hit it in your next visit. Kind regards E&C Team

  13. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    6 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on September 3, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Great service, staffs very cheerful and attentive! Will come back for sure

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on September 6, 2022Thank you so much for your kind review, we are delighted to hear you had a good experience with us. Hope you dine with us again soon. Kind regards, E&C Team

  14. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on September 3, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Even though we had to wait at the bar for a few minutes after our arrival because the place was busy, it was a great night. The bar staff recommended us drink so we could enjoy our night from the beginning until the end. Friendly staff and delicious food.
  15. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 3, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    I was at the restaurant last night after my holidays. It is remarkable how the service and atmosphere of the restaurant has improved in just one month. I was very well attended, even though all the staff were busy, they were attentive and polite. Veronica took care of us. food and drink were served very quickly for a saturday night. Tasty food and very good presentation of drinks. I will definitely come back again with my friends.

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on September 5, 2022Hello Very thanks for your 5* review. We are delighted to read this feedback and Veronica will be told about her great service. We always strive to give the best service and food for our customer and this review means we hit the goal. We are looking forward to have you dine in with us again Kind regards E&C Team

  16. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 3, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    I am a regular customer in Churchtown, and as always my experience was great. I asked the manager to change tables and he was super attentive. Burger as always tasty and excellent service. I missed Live music, but I was informed that the singer ended early. Next time I will go earlier.

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on September 5, 2022Hello, Thanks for your review and feedback. We are really happy to see you had a great visit and please don't be a stranger and keep coming regularly to dine in with us. Best regards E&C Team

  17. AO

    AmyO

    Dublin

    9 reviews

    3.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on September 2, 2022

    overall3food4service2ambience4
    Regulars here. Been coming since it’s opened and have had a few family events here. The front of house was the reason for our experience being let down. We found him very rude, no please or thank you, showed us to a dirty table, didn’t give us a child’s menu just walked away. He made us wait while he finished on his phone before attending to us. This is not the first time this has happened with him. He is very unwelcoming. As we were leaving he was still standing around the bar texting away on his phone. No thank you for our custom. Other staff were very welcoming as usual.

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on September 2, 2022Hello Amy, Very thanks for your feedback, from then we can get it fixed for don't have this situation happening again. As our policy none of our staffs can use their mobile phones during the shift, excepted for an urgency circumstance. Really sorry for that and we hope to have another shot from you. Kind regards E&C Team

  18. RT

    RayT

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on August 30, 2022

    overall3food4service4ambience4
    Too expensive- 2 salmon lunches plus a bottle of water and 2 coffees - €58.

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 31, 2022Hey RayT Very thanks for your review. All prices from our suppliers are going up, we are fighting to do as best as we can to keep our quality and delivery the best food and service for our customers always. Thanks for understanding Kind regards E&C Team

  19. MF

    MarkF

    Dublin

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on August 27, 2022

    overall4food3service4ambience4
    Service was good although a little slow. Ordered 2 steaks which were a bit tough but OK.I really like this place but it's just too expensive.
  20. S

    Starfish

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 27, 2022

    overall3food4service1ambience4
    Service was very slow. We were pretty much ignored once our food was served. Couldn't get anyone's attention. Eventually just got the bill and didn't bother with dessert

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 29, 2022Hello Starfish, We are really sorry to see that. We always strive to serve the best food and service for our customer but this time we didn't hit it. We hope to have another shot for you to show the real E&C standard to serve our guests. Kind regards E&C Team

  21. DJ

    DJL2

    Dublin

    3 reviews

    2.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on August 27, 2022

    overall2food1service2ambience3
    Restaurant opened late - about 10.08 on a Saturday. Some staff were not focussed. Biggest issue was that the fried eggs that were served were stone cold. Other diners were similarly unhappy.
  22. PS

    PaddyS

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 26, 2022

    overall2food2service1ambience2
    Wings are good. Burgers, Mexican salad, kids burger and fries poor. Kids bangers n' mash dreadful. Service is poor. Really disappointed.
  23. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on August 22, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Super and consistent

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on September 5, 2022Hello, Very thanks for your 5* Review We are really glad to see you had a great visit and we hope to have you dine in with us again real soon for a Super and consistent service/food. Best regards E&C Team

  24. JT

    JaneT

    Dublin

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 21, 2022

    overall4food3service4ambience5
    Nice char-grilled hamburgers. Reasonable service. Not sure I would go for the main menu (based on previous experience - only OK quality so overpriced.) Nice environment.

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 22, 2022Hello JaneT, Thanks for your feedback and 4* review. We hope to have you dine in with us again real soon to show our improvements and hit the 5* review. Best regards, E&C Team

  25. GB

    GemmaB

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on August 21, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Fantastic food, great service and a lovely atmosphere. My son's 11th birthday and he really enjoyed it. They let us bring our own cake and sang Happy birthday too.

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 22, 2022Hello GemmaB, Many thanks for your recent review. We are happy to hear you had a good experience with us. We hope you dine with us again real soon. Kind Regards, E&C Team

  26. S

    Scooby

    Dublin

    4 reviews

    3.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on August 21, 2022

    overall3food3service4ambience2
    Made a Sunday brunch booking about 5 days in advance. That was totally unnecessary, because at 11am on a Sunday in mid-August the place was dead empty. While the 2 orders of eggs benedict and 2 cappuccino were OK, the presentation was just average for the price. We were completely done in 30 minutes, spent 34 Euro, and left still feeling a bit hungry. Sorry!

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 22, 2022Hello Scooby, Many thanks for your recent 3* review. We hope you can give us another shot so we can earn those two extra stars. Kind Regards, E&C Team

  27. SQ

    SiobhanQ

    New York Area

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 20, 2022

    overall3food4service3ambience3
    Food was good, however service was strange.. waitress insisted on slamming drinks and condiments onto the table! Her attitude wasn’t pleasant! Would put us off retuning eventhough we’re local.

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 21, 2022Hello SiobhanQ. Thank you for your recent review. We are sad to see that your visit wasn't the best. Will look at the service aspect of it and we hope you can give us another shot. Kind Regards, E&C Team

  28. AM

    AidanM

    Exclusive

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on August 19, 2022

    overall5food5service4ambience3
    Ordered the 10oz striploin steak.was done properly and was delicious.staff were very young.more of a family restaurant feel.had to ask for the bill

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 20, 2022Hello AindanM. Very thanks for your 5* review. We are really glad to see you had a great visit and please don't be a stranger and come do have a new steak with us again real soon. Best regards E&C Team

  29. T

    Therese

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on August 18, 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience4
    The restaurant was very busy but the staff were attentive and the wings were as always excellent!

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 20, 2022Hello Therese, Many thanks for the great review. We are delighted to hear you had a great visit and we hope to have you back again with us soon. Kind Regards, E&C Team

  30. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on August 17, 2022

    overall3food4service2ambience5
    Food was excellent but service not too good… It was busy but staff were setting up tables to sit more people but no proper service once you were on the table. Drinks were taking too long so I told them I didn’t want it anymore. I think it was a organisation problem. Some staff should be cleaning, other ones taking orders and making clients are okay. All of them were cleaning and seating people but no one fully dedicated to attend people once you’re waiting

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 18, 2022Hello. Thank you for your recent feedback. We are sad to hear you didn't have the best visit with us. This is not our standards. We will be looking into this, so this doesn't happen again. We hope you can give us another try to show you the true E&C way. Kind Regards, E&C Team

  31. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 15, 2022

    overall1food1service3ambience4
    The burger was overcooked and dry And the chicken burger seasoning was bland portions of chips were very small Caesar salad was okay put for an extra €6 to add any type of meat

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 20, 2022Hello, We are really sorry to see you didn't have your food as you were expecting. Our head chef will check this out straight after. We hope to have another shot from you to show how we strive to service our customers into E&C standards. Kind regards E&C Team

  32. GO

    GerryO

    Dublin

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on August 13, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    It was fabulous- we hadn’t seen our friends & family for a couple of months and the staff were marvellous and really made it a night worth remembering with their ‘recommended cocktails’ and great humour & helpfulness - we’ll be back very soon (our niece loved the chicken wings♥️)

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 14, 2022Hello GerryO, Very thanks for your 5* review. We are delighted to see you had a great visit and we hope to have you dine with us again real soon (Tell your niece the chicken wings will always be ready for her whenever she comes =) Best regards E&C Team

  33. L

    Lorrd

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on August 13, 2022

    overall4food4service3ambience4
    Only 3 stars for service mains plates were removed from the table while one person was still eating.....not the done thing. Small criticism for an otherwise enjoyable experience. Guy playing guitar added to ambience.

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 14, 2022Hello Lorrd Thanks for your feedback and 4* review. We hope to have you dine in with us again real soon to show our improvements and hit the 5* review. Best regards. E&C Team

  34. MB

    MarcelaB

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on August 13, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Fabulous food, all the staff were very friendly and I loved the passion fruit cocktail 😊

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 14, 2022Hi MarcelaB Thank you for your 5*star review, we are really happy to see you have a great visit and we hope to have you back dine in with us again real soon. Kind regards, E&C Team

  35. u

    uibeanbeiliu1946

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    2.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on August 11, 2022

    overall2food2service1ambience3
    Service dreadful food mediocre Would not recommend

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 16, 2022Hello uibeanbeiliu1946, Thank you for taking the time to leave your recent visit feedback. We apologize that you didn't have a good experience with us. Would you mind emailing us a little more information on your visit? churchtownmod@elephantandcastle.ie Kind Regards, E&C Team

  36. MH

    MariaH

    London

    8 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on August 11, 2022

    overall3food3service4ambience3
    Food wasn’t great , we had the salmon and a salad. Staff friendly.

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 29, 2022Hello, We are really sorry to see you didn't have your food as you were expecting. Our head chef will be on top of it and we hope to have another shot from you soon to show our real E&C standard to serve our customers. Kind regards E&C Team

  37. A

    Anon

    Dublin

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 10, 2022

    overall3food3service3ambience3
    Food tasted nice but was unwell after it. Also requested a booth table by the window and front door as I was with my grandfather who has limited mobility. However this was not given to us and when I tried to ring them the day before to confirm they didn’t answer. I called three times. Overall, I wouldn’t go back.

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 13, 2022Hello Anon. We are really sorry to see you didn't have your visit as you expected, we will look straight after about the booth seat situation because once we have it free it has to be given for whoever come in. We hope to have another shot from you in the future to show how we strive to give the best food and service. Kind regards E&C Team

  38. S

    Suemagoo

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 10, 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    The place was nice and airy, food was nice. The staff were very attentive. Had a very nice afternoon there.
  39. B

    Becks

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 7, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    The food was great and the staff were fantastic and helpful.
  40. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Seattle

    5 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on August 6, 2022

    overall2food2service2ambience3
    the salad ordered by my dining companion was limp and wilted. Not once did a member of the team approach our table during the meal, so much so, we paid at the hostess stand on the way out. The server/host, said that they’d have a “word” with the kitchen…. My words would be, never again!

    Elephant & Castle - ChurchtownResponded on August 20, 2022Hello, Hello, We are really sorry to see you didn't have your food as you were expecting. Our head chef will check this out straight after. We hope to have another shot from you to show how we strive to service our customers into E&C standards. Kind regards E&C Team

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitizing

    • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
    • Contactless payment available
  • Physical distancing

    • Distancing maintained in common areas
    • Extra space between tables
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
    • Staff is vaccinated
    • Contact tracing information collected

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Elephant & Castle - Churchtown using the Order Online button. Elephant & Castle - Churchtown also offers delivery in partnership with Deliveroo and Just Eat. Elephant & Castle - Churchtown also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (01) 683 3790.

Elephant & Castle - Churchtown is rated 3.9 stars by 905 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 53 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Other options

  • Order online
  • Logo image for Deliveroo
  • Logo image for Just Eat
Google Map for Elephant & Castle - Churchtown

96-98 Churchtown Road Upper, Dublin, Co. Dublin D14 EW68

Additional information

  • Neighborhood

    Churchtown

  • Hours of operation

    Mon–Thu 12:00 pm–9:30 pm Fri 12:00 pm–10:30 pm Sat 10:00 am–10:30 pm Sun 10:00 am–9:30 pm

  • Cuisines

    American, Contemporary European, Mexican

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Dress code

    Casual Dress

  • Parking details

    Street Parking

  • Payment options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Vegan, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo